It’s not worth it

Image result for ptsd

Some people use psychoactive substances to alter there perception and consciousness. Many claim to say it helps, but I do not  feel that it is worth becoming a slave to a drug just to make myself feel better for a couple of hours. I am against it because I have seen how it can affect some one and I feel that the cons outweigh the pros.

I personally would not takes hallucinogens to alter my perception. I do not feel that they are necessary for mental or psychological problems. This is because of the people I have met and inspired me. When I was in basic training for the army I met several people that I have huge respect for they assisted me in becoming not only a good soldier, but an even better person.There was one person in particular who I didn’t know had PTSD during training, but found and read an article he created; made me affirm my opinion that you can get past your problems without using drugs as a crutch for your problems. There are in fact much better ways to face your problems.(http://www.sophiajameseducation.com/how-running-a-5k-saved-my-life/)

I have a cousin who struggled with depression for many years. He started using drugs to help him deal with his depression. It worked, but only for a few months he would come over and be very talkative and happy. However when he was not on medication he was very anxious all the time and struggled speaking with me. The difference between him being on medication and him not was enormous, my cousin usually staying inside most of the time decided to go out more. I was not concerned at the time because I thought that he was just finally coming out of his shell. What I didn’t know is that he was going out with the wrong kind of people or at least they were in my opinion. He ended up in the hospital due to a drug overdose he didn’t tell me if it was because of the medication he was already taking or something else.

After my experiences and learning how it affects my friends and family I would not take any mind altering hallucinogens.

Leave a comment